The solitary mountain

Once a stone looking up to the colossal mountain tearing through the heavens said'” I wish I could be like you, then all the other stones will admire and look up to me”. Listening to the stone’s words the mountain replied: ” I wish the same”.The stone baffled upon hearing those words thought the mountain must have lost it but still said that he didn’t understand what he meant. “Who wouldn’t want to be like you tearing through the skies, worshiped by all and feared equally”, he said. The mountain laughed heartily for a moment and then said: “let me share a secret with you”. The little stone listened closely to his words as he said: ” I, the mightiest of all, feared and respected equally by everyone, is all alone up here”. “Then where are your friends ?” the young stone enquired. The mountain now with a grim expression on his face said, ” When others look at me they see me as the epitome of all the good things but what I am in reality is a tomb of all the sacrifices my dear stones made so that I could reach to the top.”

Leave a Reply

